The Stranger of Udûn? - New Info and the Identity of Meteor Man

For discussion of Amazon's new television show "The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power"
Stranger Wings

The Stranger of Udûn? - New Info and the Identity of Meteor Man

Post by Stranger Wings »

First of all, great to be back after a nearly decades-long hiatus! I have been posting online about Tolkien for almost two decades now, under many guises and many names. Some of you may know me as the poster formerly known as Gandalf's Mother, and others as Shelob's Appetite. I had to come back. My appetite for Tolkien cannot be satiated. I am doomed to lurk in the lightless pits that are Tolkien messageboards.

Secondly, I want to talk about the Rings of Power. Having been quite a vocal critic of the artistic choices made for the LOTR and Hobbit films (I never thought PJ's heavy-handed style captured the objective tone of Tolkien's work - PJ displays an authorial domination telling us exactly how we're supposed to feel, unlike Tolkien), I am (perhaps surprisingly for others and even myself) quite excited about the potential of the show and the thoughtfulness of the showrunners (who, I know, heresy of heresies, I think have a more nuanced grasp of Tolkien than PJ, Boyens and Walsh).

In particular, before it airs, I wanted to air my theory about one of the most mysterious elements of the show, Meteor Man/ The Stranger, which I first posted about over on the TORN message boards (as "Stranger Wings"). This is based on a number of new bits of both official information, and reliable fan rumors emanating from the SDCC panel-goers.

1. The fire he emits is magic fire - cold to the touch. The hobbit who approaches him is not burnt (based on fan eyewitness of a scene shown during an SDCC panel). The Stranger is later able to produce that fire again.

2. The Stranger is almost completely mute (confirmed by the actor Daniel Weyman and some cast mates).