Over-Population

The place for measured discourse about politics and current events, including developments in science and medicine.
Voronwë the Faithful
At the intersection of here and now

Over-Population

Post by Voronwë the Faithful »

In another thread,
vison wrote:There are about 6 billion of us right now. I wonder which ones of us are to be viewed as "too many"?
Forgive me for saying so, my dear vison, but I really think that is a dangerous way to look at the question of over-population. Obviously, it is unreasonable to say that one person has a greater right to be on the planet then another. But that doesn't change the fact that we are reaching (or maybe have already reached, or at best or in danger of reaching) the point where the natural resources of the planet simply can not sustain that number of people, at least living the way that we do. I'm no scientist, but I can recognize scientific realities when I see them. Addressing the problem is not a matter of deciding which ones of su are to be viewed as "too many". It is a matter of preventing widespread suffering on an unimaginable scale, and perhaps even a matter of the preservation of the human race itself.

Or so it seems to me.

Sorry to respond in a separate thread, but I didn't want to osgiliate the other thread any more.
"Spirits in the shape of hawks and eagles flew ever to and from his halls; and their eyes could see to the depths of the seas, and pierce the hidden caverns beneath the world."
yovargas
I miss Prim ...

Re: Over-Population

Post by yovargas »

Voronwë_the_Faithful wrote:But that doesn't change the fact that we are reaching (or maybe have already reached, or at best or in danger of reaching) the point where the natural resources of the planet simply can not sustain that number of people, at least living the way that we do.
Which natural resources specifically are we talking about?
I wanna love somebody but I don't know how
I wanna throw my body in the river and drown