The Classical Music Thread

Discussion of performing arts, including theatre, film, television, and music.
Pearly Di
Elvendork

The Classical Music Thread

Post by Pearly Di »

I think we need one. :)

Last night I listened on my CD player the Brahms Piano Concerto No.1, a piece of music I find incredibly intense, gorgeous, magnificent and Romantic with a capital 'R'.

:love: :love: :love: :love:

I can't believe they hated it when it was first played in 1859. :( It is amazing, what new ground these great composers broke ... and they often suffered for their art and their innovations. :(

The piano and the orchestra are very much partners weaving round each other in the dance in this fabulous work. Goodness - if I was an A-list pianist, how I would love to play this emotional and powerful - yet very controlled - work! :love:

I'm not an expert in classical music. I've just built up a little collection over the years of things I fell in love with, and the Brahms No. 1 is most definitely one of them. :love:

I also adore his beautiful violin concerto. :)

I also listened over Easter to Bach's St. Matthew Passion. Just ... :bow:
"Frodo undertook his quest out of love - to save the world he knew from disaster at his own expense, if he could ... "
Letter no. 246, The Collected Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien
Avatar by goldlighticons on Live Journal
JewelSong
Just Keep Singin'

Post by JewelSong »

Yay! Thanks for starting this thread, Di!

I'll be back! :D
"Live! Live! Live! Life is a banquet, and most poor suckers are starving to death!" - Auntie Mame

Erunáme

Re: The Classical Music Thread

Post by Erunáme »

Pearly Di wrote:I can't believe they hated it when it was first played in 1859. :( It is amazing, what new ground these great composers broke ... and they often suffered for their art and their innovations. :(
There's a lot of stories like that, unfortunately. Stravinsky's debut of The Rite of Spring comes to mind: